Skip to Main Content Increase Contrast Accessibility Help

Unity Trust Bank shortlisted for the Living Wage Champion Awards 2015 in the West Midlands

Latest News

Unity Trust Bank shortlisted for the Living Wage Champion Awards 2015 in the West Midlands

Published: October 15, 2015


Unity Trust Bank, a specialist bank for organisations and businesses that aim to create community, economic, social or environmental benefit, has been shortlisted, for the second year running,  by the Living Wage Foundation for the Living Wage Champion Awards 2015.

The awards recognise Living Wage employers that have made great contributions to communities and industries by implementing and celebrating the Living Wage.

The Living Wage Foundation offers a recognition mark for employers that commit to paying the Living Wage. There are now over 1,175 accredited employers in the UK.

The Living Wage is an hourly rate set independently and updated annually. The Living Wage is calculated according to the basic cost of living using the ‘Minimum Income Standard’ for the UK. Decisions about what to include in this standard are set by the public; it is a social consensus about what people need to make ends meet.

Unity Trust Bank Head of Human Resources, Kay Gossage said:

“Creating social and economic impact is central to our purpose and paying our staff the Living Wage helps us to achieve this. We believe it has increased our employee satisfaction, contributing to us achieving the Investors in People Gold status and a ’One Star’ rating in the Best Companies to Work For Survey. Unity remains committed to responsible pay and to leading in pioneering responsible business practices. I am delighted that for a second year our commitment to the Living Wage has been recognised by these awards.”

Employers choose to pay the Living Wage on a voluntary basis. The Living Wage enjoys cross party support.

Living Wage Foundation Director, Rhys Moore said:

“I would like to send huge congratulations to Unity Trust Bank on being shortlisted for the Living Wage Champion Awards. The commitment of Living Wage Employers to responsible pay makes a life changing difference to families and communities across the UK. We look forward to celebrating this even further when announcing the winners of the Awards during Living Wage Week.”

The Award Winners will be announced during Living Wage Week 2015, with one winner announced for each region of the UK: Scotland; Wales; Northern Ireland; the East Midlands; the West Midlands; the East of England; Yorkshire and the Humber; North East England; North West England; South East England; South West England; and London.

The awards are judged by an independent panel of community leaders from Citizens UK, national community organising charity and home of the Living Wage campaign.